2018 Distinguished Evangelist - Pastor Danny Hernaez

Pastor Danny A. Hernaez Named
2018 Distinguished Evangelist

Pastor Davidson “Danny” A. Hernaez of Humble, Texas in the Texas Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church, has been selected as The Foundation for Evangelism’s 2018 Distinguished Evangelist. This recognition is bestowed annually by The Foundation for Evangelism to celebrate, inspire, encourage and equip ALL who are called to be evangelists.

Pastor Hernaez serves as a charter member of the Laity Unleashed program in the Texas Annual Conference, a program developed for individuals who want to contribute to God’s kingdom in a meaningful way, but don’t feel called to ordained ministry. He is also a Vibrant Church Initiative consultant and ministry coach, and serves on his Conference and Leadership teams.

In addition to his role as CEO of a healthcare company, Pastor Hernaez is president of a non- profit organization that supports the distribution of Bibles and other resources to seminaries, colleges and churches in the Philippines. He was instrumental in bringing The Walk to Emmaus to the Philippines in 2012 and continues to serve on teams including Chrysalis and Kairos. He contributes regularly as a spiritual columnist for The Filipino Press, writing daily digital devotionals that reach more than 2,000 recipients.

Pastor Hernaez is described as an innovator, a thoughtful writer and preacher. He preaches nearly every Sunday in North America, the Philippines, Vietnam, and wherever he feels God calling him to bring the Good News.

“I share my life to the people as a broken vessel full of holes, sinner yet given a second chance, forgiven and saved. There is no other compelling reason for the folks in the pew to be stirred, inspired and encouraged to join me in leadership wherever we are called.” Pastor Hernaez shared.1

Perhaps most compelling, though is Pastor Hernaez’s words from a session at the 2011 School of Congregational in which he challenged attendees that “All of us are called to be witnesses to the power of the gospel story to redeem. To transform and give meaning to life.2 “
The Foundation for Evangelism welcomes Pastor Danny A. Hernaez to the roll of Distinguished Evangelists dating back to 1989, and looks forward to sharing more about his ministry over the course of 2019. Follow him at http://foundationforevangelism.org/category/distinguished-evangelist/.

1 “Leadership in High Gear: Meet ‘Energizer Danny,’” 3/27/2014, Texas Annual Conference https://www.txcumc.org/newsdetail/107534.
2 2011 School of Congregational Development, UMC Discipleship Ministries, https://www.umcdiscipleship.org/resources/transforming-church-culture-at-2011-school-of-congregational-development.

Pastor Danny Hernaez

Previous Distinguished Evangelists

Past recipients of this award include:

  • Ms. Kay Schecht, Irving, TX – 2017
  • Adam Weber, Sioux Falls, SD – 2016
  • Harry Lyness, West Harrison, IN – 2015
  • Bishop Richard Looney, Chattanooga, TN – 2014
  • Rev. R Mark Beeson, Granger, IN – 2013
  • Rev. Charles Anderson, San Antonio, TX – 2012
  • Dr. Ed Robb, The Woodlands, TX  – 2011
  • Rev. Shane Bishop, Fairview, IL – 2010
  • Rev. Jorge Acevedo, Cape Coral, FL – 2009
  • Dr. Keith Tonkel, Jackson, MS – 2008
  • Dr. Kent Millard, Indianapolis, IN – 2007
  • Dr. Norman Neaves, Oklahoma City, OK – 2006
  • Dr. George E. Morris, Canton, Georgia – 2005
  • Ms. Billie Fidlin, Phoenix, Arizona – 2004
  • Rev. Dr. Michael Slaughter, Tipp City, Ohio – 2003
  • Rev. Dr. William “Bill” Bouknight, Memphis, Tennessee – 2002
  • Rev. Dr. Joe Hale, Waynesville, North Carolina – 2001
  • Bishop Earl G. Hunt, Jr., Asheville, North Carolina (Lifetime Award)
  • Rev. Adam Hamilton, Leawood, Kansas – 2000
  • Dr. James C. Logan of Wesley Theological Seminary – 1999
  • Reverends Juanita and Rudy Rasmus, Houston, TX – 1998
  • Rev. Stephen A. Rhodes, Washington, DC – 1997
  • Dr. James E. Barnes, Denver, Colorado – 1996
  • Dr. Kirbyjon Caldwell, Houston, Texas – 1995
    Dr. Lawrence Lacour, Tulsa, Oklahoma (Lifetime award)
  • Dr. Eddie Fox, Nashville, Tennessee -1994
  • Bishop Kenneth Carder, Nashville, Tennessee – 1993
  • Dr. James Buskirk, Tulsa, Oklahoma –  1992
  • Dr. E. Malone Dodson, Roswell, Georgia – 1991
  • Joe A. Harding, Corvallis, Oregon – 1990